Web Design

UK Website Redesign Guide 2026: Prices in Pounds, VAT, Cookie Rules and the ICO Fee

A UK redesign has rules a generic guide misses: prices that must include VAT, details a limited company must show, an analytics exception in the cookie rules and an ICO fee. This guide covers each from official sources, with published studio prices in pounds. Checked October 2026.

UK Website Redesign Guide 2026: Prices in Pounds, VAT, Cookie Rules and the ICO Fee

Key takeaways

  • Published UK prices run from about £300 to £30,000. Starter packages begin around £299 to £799, a mid-range custom build sits around £1,200 to £4,900 on the pages we read, and one agency says most of its redesigns fall between £8,000 and £30,000.
  • Ask whether a price includes VAT. Only one of the seven studios we read states on the pages we saw that its prices are VAT-inclusive. If your customers are consumers, the advertising rules say prices quoted to them should include VAT.
  • Monthly plans rent, one-off packages buy. On the published prices, a five-page site costs £839 over two years as a one-off with hosting, and £1,319.76 as a monthly plan, which includes hosting.
  • A limited company's website must show its registered number and office. It must also show where it is registered and that it is a limited company.
  • Analytics can be exempt from cookie consent in the UK, with conditions. The ICO says the statistical purposes exception needs clear information, a simple free way to object and aggregate-only use. Marketing cookies still need consent.
  • The ICO data protection fee is £52, £78 or £3,763 by size, and many organisations are exempt, so check before you pay.

What is different about a UK redesign

The design and structure work is the same anywhere, and our general guides cover it: the signs a website needs a redesign, the redesign SEO checklist and how long a redesign takes. What changes in the UK is a short list of rules and costs that you need to get right before launch. This page is general information, not legal advice.

What UK studios publish, in pounds

We read these studios' own pages on 17 October 2026. Prices are one-off unless marked monthly, and "from" prices are starting points.

StudioWhat the page offersPublished priceVAT stated
Harris Digital Web DesignStart-up scrolling-page site, 12 months of hosting£299 one-offNot stated
MyWebDeveloperSingle-page site£399 one-off or £39.99 a monthNot stated
Purple Cloud SolutionsStarter websitesFrom £499Not stated
Juggernaut TechnologiesSeven-page site, plus £29.99 a month for hosting and management£499 one-offNot stated
MyWebDeveloperFive-page business site£599 one-off or £54.99 a monthNot stated
Juggernaut TechnologiesTwelve-page site, plus £29.99 a month£699 one-offNot stated
MyWebDeveloperOnline store, up to ten pages£799 one-off or £74.99 a monthNot stated
BramblaWebsites, fixed priceFrom £1,200Every plan is VAT-inclusive
BramblaFree build, then a monthly plan£30 a month for 1 page, £50 a month for 5 or moreVAT-inclusive
Melt CreativeCustom WordPress packagesFrom £1,500, with higher packages from £3,500 and £4,900Not stated
Grid Design AgencyAgency website redesignMost between £8,000 and £30,000Not stated

Two notes on reading the table. First, "from" prices describe the smallest package, so ask what the price includes, such as pages, copywriting, hosting and number of review rounds. Second, the studios that do not state VAT may or may not add it, so ask before you compare.

One-off or monthly: the two-year arithmetic

Some studios sell the same site either way. This is our arithmetic on MyWebDeveloper's published prices, where a one-off site needs hosting at £10 a month and the monthly plans include hosting:

SiteOne-off plus hosting, two yearsMonthly plan, two years
Single page£399 plus £240, which is £639£39.99 times 24, which is £959.76
Five pages£599 plus £240, which is £839£54.99 times 24, which is £1,319.76
Online store£799 plus £240, which is £1,039£74.99 times 24, which is £1,799.76

On Juggernaut's published prices, the £499 package plus £29.99 a month for 24 months comes to £1,218.76, and the £699 package comes to £1,418.76.

The monthly route spreads the cost and bundles hosting and support, and over longer periods it costs more. Whatever you choose, ask about ownership and cancellation: what you own if you stop paying, whether the domain is in your name and whether there is a minimum term. Our checklist for hiring a studio covers those questions, and they apply to UK studios as much as to overseas ones.

VAT: what you pay and what you show

The threshold. GOV.UK says you must register for VAT if your taxable turnover for the last 12 months goes over £90,000, or you expect it to go over that in the next 30 days, and you can register voluntarily below it. If you are not VAT-registered, you cannot reclaim VAT a studio charges you, so a price that adds 20% matters more to you than to a registered business.

Prices on your website. GOV.UK says adverts must describe the actual cost accurately, including taxes such as VAT. The Advertising Standards Authority's guidance on its CAP Code, published on 11 December 2025, says that if customers are consumers, all prices quoted should include VAT, and that stating a VAT-exclusive price with a note that VAT is payable is not enough. VAT-exclusive prices may be given only if everyone the price is addressed to pays no VAT or can recover it, and they must be accompanied by the VAT amount or rate.

For a redesign, that means checking every price on the site: service pages, packages, product pages and the checkout.

What a limited company must show on its website

GOV.UK says a limited company's website, business letters and order forms must show:

  • the company's registered number;
  • its registered office address;
  • where the company is registered, which is England and Wales, Scotland or Northern Ireland;
  • that it is a limited company, usually by spelling out the full name including "Limited" or "Ltd".

If you choose to include directors' names, GOV.UK says you must list all of them. Put these details in the footer so they appear on every page, and check that a redesign has not dropped them.

The Information Commissioner's Office updated its guidance on storage and access technologies on 29 April 2026. The ICO says there are five exceptions to the rule that you need consent before storing or accessing information on someone's device, including a "strictly necessary" exception and a "statistical purposes" exception, often called the analytics exception.

The statistical purposes exception applies if the sole purpose is to collect statistical information about how your service is used, with a view to improving it. To rely on it, the ICO says you must:

  • give clear and comprehensive information about the use;
  • give a simple means of objecting, free of charge;
  • use the data only for aggregate statistics, such as how many people visit, what they view and for how long;
  • not use it to identify, track or monitor people, or to make decisions about them;
  • not keep individual-level information after aggregating it.

If your use goes beyond that, you must get consent. The ICO's own examples show that counting page visits is likely to qualify, while making inferences about people does not. Cookies used to track or profile people, such as many advertising and social media pixels, do not fit the exception, because it is not for identifying, tracking or monitoring people.

For a redesign, list every cookie and script on the old site, decide which are necessary, which are analytics and which are marketing, and set up the new site to match. Check how your analytics tool is configured, because the exception depends on how the data is used, not on the tool's name.

The ICO data protection fee

Under the Data Protection Act 2018, organisations that process personal information must pay an annual data protection fee unless they are exempt. The ICO's fee tiers are:

TierWhoFee
Tier 1, microMaximum turnover of £632,000, or no more than 10 staff£52
Tier 2, small and mediumMaximum turnover of £36 million, or no more than 250 staff£78
Tier 3, largeEveryone else£3,763

The ICO says paying by direct debit gives a £5 discount, and that many organisations can rely on an exemption. A contact form, a mailing list and an online shop all collect personal data, so check the ICO's fee checker as part of the redesign.

Domains and the redesign

Keep your existing domain, since changing it is the riskiest move in a redesign. The domain should be registered in your name, with the registrant details yours, and the renewal date in your diary. If the address does not change, Google's Change of Address tool is not needed, and the steps in our redesign SEO checklist cover redirects for any pages whose addresses do change.

A UK redesign checklist

CheckWhy
Every price shows VAT correctly for the customer typeMisleading price display is an advertising rules issue
Footer shows company number, registered office and registration countryGOV.UK requires it for limited companies
Cookies and scripts audited and classifiedOnly exempt uses can run without consent
Cookie and privacy information clear and findableThe statistical exception needs clear information and an easy way to object
ICO fee paid or exemption confirmedPaying it, or confirming an exemption, is a legal duty
Domain registered in your nameYou can always move studios
Redirects mapped for any changed addressProtects the traffic you have
Speed and accessibility testedThe Core Web Vitals targets are in our guide to the signs a site needs a redesign

Working with a studio outside the UK

A team in another country changes three things, and our checklist for hiring an offshore agency covers them: time overlap, how you pay and which contract applies. Amariq's team works from Bangladesh, and on a 9 to 5 day it shares two hours with London in winter and three in summer. We invoice in US dollars from Amariq LLC, so ask your accountant how VAT applies to services from a non-UK supplier before you sign.

How we approach a UK redesign

At Amariq, the first call is about your goals and what is holding the site back, and the proposal sets out the stages, the milestones and a delivery date before work starts. Payment is in three stages, and on final payment the design, copy and code we write are yours, with the domain and hosting in your own accounts. Our conversion-focused redesign starts with positioning and structure, and our Webflow migration page covers platform moves. For choosing a studio, see how to choose a web design agency.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a website redesign cost in the UK?

The studios we read publish starter sites from £299 to £799, custom packages from £1,200 to £4,900, and one agency says most of its redesigns fall between £8,000 and £30,000. Scope, page count, content and whether the price includes VAT and hosting explain the spread.

Do UK website prices have to include VAT?

If your customers are consumers, the ASA's guidance says all prices quoted should include VAT, and a VAT-exclusive price with a note is not enough. VAT-exclusive prices are allowed only when everyone the price is addressed to pays no VAT or can recover it, with the VAT shown.

Not always. The ICO says the statistical purposes exception applies if the sole purpose is aggregate statistics to improve your service, you give clear information and a simple free way to object, and you do not identify or track people or keep individual-level data. Marketing and tracking cookies still need consent.

Do I need to pay the ICO fee?

Most organisations that process personal data must, unless exempt. The fee is £52 for micro organisations, £78 for small and medium ones and £3,763 for large ones, with a £5 direct debit discount. Use the ICO's fee checker to confirm your position.

What must a limited company show on its website?

GOV.UK says the registered number, the registered office address, where it is registered and that it is a limited company, usually by showing the full name with "Limited" or "Ltd". If you list directors' names, you must list all of them.

Should I choose a monthly website plan or pay once?

A monthly plan spreads the cost and bundles hosting, and costs more over time. On MyWebDeveloper's published prices, a five-page site is £839 over two years as a one-off with hosting and £1,319.76 on the monthly plan. Ask about ownership, minimum terms and cancellation.

Do I need a new domain when I redesign my UK site?

No. Keep your existing domain, registered in your name, and use redirects for any pages whose addresses change. You only need Google's Change of Address tool if you move to a different domain.

Can I use a studio outside the UK for a UK redesign?

Yes, if you check the contract, the payment steps and the time overlap, and ask how VAT applies to the invoice. Our offshore checklist covers each point.

Rahat Khondokar, founder of Amariq

Rahat Khondokar

Founder & CEO, Amariq

Rahat designs and builds websites for marketing teams and ecommerce brands, and writes here about the structure, copy and conversion work behind them. More about Amariq. Find him on YouTube, Dribbble and LinkedIn.

Keep reading

Related articles.

All articles